//
you're reading...
Casting Calls

Welcome – Repost

This is the first post I shared over two years ago. I am reposting since I am now able to devote more time to the blog and Facebook Group.

Hello World! My name is Maria Jossey Owen and I am a stay at home mother, entrepreneur and momanger of a nine year old son who is starting on his journey in the acting and modeling industry.

If any of you are familiar with the entertainment industry, you know that it is a different beast. You don’t know what you don’t know and what you don’t know can hurt you (or at least hinder you from moving forward). I was stumbling around trying to figure it out and then I stumbled upon The Hollywood Mom Blog and another private group of Momangers. These two groups have been my salvation. They have given me the guidance, inspiration and information to help me move in the right directions.

The Hollywood Mom Blog is a positive community, forum, news outlet, information resource and occasional laugh for multitasking, humorously self-deprecating momagers & popagers (parents of professional child performers/child actors) in Hollywood and around the world. It is like an industry bible for moms in the business. It has helped me to navigate this crazy entertainment business and understand what goes on in Hollywood. You can learn more about it  at Hollywood Mom Blog : http://hollywoodmomblog.com/

I was challenged this past week by Tracy Bobbitt, the owner of Hollywood Mom Blog. I had asked her about including news from the Chicago area and she suggested that I should think about writing about the Chicago scene. I pondered over this for a while. I am not a writer. I don’t blog. I put it out of my mind but a little voice  kept saying, ” why not you?” There is nothing here in Chicago that is sharing the information with other moms in the industry.

So, here is the Chicago Mom Blog. This blog has been created to share entertainment and industry news to the moms/dads in the Chicagoland area.

I hope that I can provide other people with information that can help them maneuver through the entertainment industry.

Facebook Group:

https://www.facebook.com/Chicagowoodmomblog#!/Chicagowoodmomblog?fref=ts

About chicagowoodmomblog

Maria Jossey Owen is a stay at home wife and mom, entrepreneur and momanger to an eight year old son who is in an actor. This Blog is created to provide professional information on acting in Chicago and beyond. We will have info on how to get Work Permits, auditions, Casting Agencies, Casting Directors, Agents, Acting Camps, Acting Classes, Contests, Websites of interest, Facebook Pages and much, much more! I want to help others who are trying to navigate through this acting industry. Acting is a business and it needs to be treated as one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Categories